Image Makeovers to Maximize Your Earning Potential – BEDA Day 17 of 31

Image Makeovers to Maximize

Your Earning Potential

BEDA Day 17 of 31

=============

Ok maybe I told a story in my video. I do have 2 suit-like items crumpled up in the bottom of my closet. I think…

I’ve felt skillful and capable of running a company of my own for again roughly two years now. But I’ve been self-conscious about my presentation. Presentation, to me includes many things, how your face, frame, attire look. How your materials look. Your body language, etc… Any and everything that people evaluate before they even think about buying or learning from you. I’ve been more so  worried that my simple nature and style was dampening my ability to fiercely communicate and take advantage of professional opportunities.

I want to take a second to recognize that confidence in yourself and your look is key to projecting an heir of success, skill, and capability. Personally, I feel like I have moved to a place where I’m essentially confident in myself. I’ve confronted and battled with the issues I’ve had with my face/photogenicness, my sometimey skin, my build, my presence, etc… While I have done the work to (continuously) believe in myself, I want to save the space for those of you who may not have done that work yet. Take inventory of your self-esteem. Do you feel comfortable and confident in what you bring when you walk into a room? If not – what can you begin to do to move closer to being confident in you? Battles with acne other self-confidence issues for me can now be solved with a fresh haircut and the understanding that the skills I bring into a room are needed and welcome as long as I create the space for them to exist.

Physical Presence: Have you ever been somewhere minding your own business… when all of a sudden someone walks in and you feel their power. Maybe its her big crown of natural hair that makes you feel it. Maybe its his cologne that you smell every time he motions or offers a point to the crowd. Whatever it is the physical presence and package we present to the world matters. Getting my bachelors in Public Relations you would really think that I would know this and by now. But…. I got super comfortable in my teaching clothes.

As stated in the video I dress like a kid. I don’t long to change how I dress. I get to wear very comfortable clothes teaching the kids everyday, lol. But, I know, or have felt for some time, that the joggers that make teaching so comfortable are also the clothes that make me less believable, less visible, and less sellable as an expert. Its gotten to the point now where I don’t even feel I have the appropriate clothes to attend formal or more prestigious events.

wp-1471480407339.png

So, today I invested in some new professional clothes for fall. Items that make me feel powerful. That reinforce the idea that I am an expert and that I can meet my clients needs. Really the key here is to have a uniform of some sorts that I can goto that make me emanate power, prestige, knowledge, and integrity. I want to walk into a room and have people know that I’m capable of meeting their needs before I or they even speak.

Thanks to some help from my fashiony friends, I was able to drop by Zara and grab a nice, power suit for $250. I took my time to try int and many others on. I brought my dress shoes belt, and button up. I was prepared. I knew I needed to leave with something WOW-worthy, and I think I got it ;).

My bad for the late post today, but… I was pushing myself as an entrepreneur, and looking polished and put together in public was the next most important thing on my list to handle.

striped-bow-tie-1

=============

– What does your look say about you?
– Does it say you’re confident? Does it present you in your cleanest and most confident light?
– What are some areas you’ve thought about refining to improve your self-esteem, and business?

CommentShareFollowLike

BEDA = Blog Every Day in August

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

