Kanye with a bit of BEDA Recap – BEDA Day 14 of 31

Kanye with a bit of BEDA Recap –

BEDA Day 14 of 31

=============

This video floated across my facebook the other day. My crazy cousin Kanye always gives me a little something extra to think about. The vid is 2 minutes long. I’ve linked some resent posts connected to his main ideas. Check them out!

 

I’m just the shot to get YOU going

Entrepreneurship In the New Black: Counting Consulting Checks

20160812_133841

Income Source 1 – Produce and Facilitate Workshops – I’ve run a handful of workshops over the past 2 years. To date I’ve run roughly 10 workshops ranging from 4 participants to 100 participants. My largest client to date has been my former graduate school.

Definition: A workshop is a presentation or performance in which a group of people are facilitated through a discussion or activity on a certain subject.Skills: Planning, Communicating with clients and audience, finding and modifying tools to share during workshop. Making any additional materials needed such Feedback survey, handouts, creating presentation PowerPoint/presentations, organizing photography and video collection.

==============================

Believe in Yourself, Affirm, Complete!

From Blogging to Book Writing

Write-a-book

The process I’ve used thus far has looked loosely like this:

  • -Read a handful of e-books on writing your own nonfiction book.
  • -Generated ideas
  • -Bought a personalized book writing toolkit from Fiverr.com
  • -Narrowed my ideas down to the three biggest ideas I had. (all others are blog topics)
  • -Bought a notebook, and wrote one full page on what I wanted to book to be about

==============================

Refusing to follow societies rules meant to control people

Reading Books that Scare You

20160808_153058.jpg

The title here is enough. Afrikan People and European Holidays: Mental Genocide by Ishakamusa Barashango. It helped me again see some of my behaviors as implicit actions that imposed a dominant culture. Like really, take a second and think about why you’ve worshipped a White Santa Clause figure from early childhood? Many adults don’t even recognize how easily we fall prey to forced cultural and social activities. I haven’t read this book yet. But again the title thus far has been enough to help me already start questioning behaviors that I have that may perhaps go against my ideals and thoughts of the world.

==============================

People who are doing, know that doing is hard, but are not afraid to fail

How I Failed at Community Organizing

highres_449833825

Why is this a failure? Well, because we haven’t met since April. And part of me knew this would happen. I feel like while I was doing some… interesting and valuable work inviting members of my community to gather together, I wasn’t doing anything truly enriching. Our numbers halved each gathering. February was packed with approximately 15 men. March we had roughly 7, and then in April we peaked at 4 members in the room at once.

==============================

If my failures inspire others, then I’m gucci

Houston, We’ve Made Contact

Screenshot_2015-10-23-13-44-26-1

He said my blog had answered many of his initial questions.
He had questions written in his phone.
He asked me about my thoughts and reflections as an educator.
He asked about advice I would give him going into his second year.
He asked me about the future of the blog.
To which… I shared there are immediate plans to update my online presence. 

=============

Kanyechuckle

Comment – Share – Subscribe – Like

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

