Reading Books That Scare You – BEDA Day 8 of 31

Reading Books That Scare You

BEDA Day 8 of 31

=============

I dont feel like doing anything today….. So, today’s post is a snapshot of one of the piles of books i have in my room.

I regularly spend too much money buying used amazon books. Its an addiction. And I claim it! Because one day im going to turn around and be so amped at my library.

(Click on pictures to enlarge and zoom in)

image

imageimage

Hopefully you can see all of the titles on there.

Theres a little Kwame Nkrumah I profiled him a few weeks ago here. Kwame was the first Prime Minister of present-day Ghana.

Theres some Asa Hilliard and Amos Wilson. Both great reads if you’re looking for information about… Black Liberation, Historical shifts in African/Negro/Black/African American communities, cultural anthropology, racism and institutions.

This stack is made up mostly from books that I’ve bought this year. The bottom few are older grabs.

I pulled out a fews that the side binding didn’t show.

image

                    #BooksThatScareYou                    

I’ve long wanted to do a series on books that challenged my mind so much they actually scared me. I think its important to connect with ideas, theories, arguments, and points of view that FORCE us to engage in critical analysis of the ways our culture has formed the ways we think and operate. I know I have a couple of titles that do that for me.

image

The title here is enough. Afrikan People and European Holidays: Mental Genocide by Ishakamusa Barashango. It helped me again see some of my behaviors as implicit actions that imposed a dominant culture. Like really, take a second and think about why you’ve worshipped a White Santa Clause figure from early childhood? Many adults don’t even recognize how easily we fall prey to forced cultural and social activities. I haven’t read this book yet. But again the title thus far has been enough to help me already start questioning behaviors that I have that may perhaps go against my ideals and thoughts of the world.

I saw these two books and had to give them their own spotlight. I’ve only read portions of Dr. Frances Cress Welsings The Isis Papers: The Keys to the Colors. In many of her speeches she references The United Independent Compensatory Code/System/Concept by Neely Fuller, Jr. Which I own, but have yet to crack open. Out of all of my books it’s kinda interesting that these 3 were in this one pile. I would say they’re probably the 3 books I’m most resistant to really sit down and read out of my whole collection.

wp-1470685645359.jpg

What books have you come across that made you scared to read? If you haven’t come by any titles yet maybe you can find a nice one in one of the many titles listed above.

Comment – Share – Subscribe

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Kanye with a bit of BEDA Recap – BEDA Day 14 of 31 | Skool Haze

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

