Skoolhouse Blues – My worst day yet

31380820

I got my ass handed to me yesterday, by none other than my principal… Go figure. I’m shitty beyond belief at her critique of my performance thus far. As you can see it’s 4:08am, I need to be up by 6:30am to have a decent start to my day. Overall she was dissappointed that my instruction had pretty much completely dropped off the map. Or at least it is far far far from the normal scripted curriculum we had been using in Just Words. She also feels I’ve neglected my IEP/Special Education duties.

My pushback was that, yes, my instruction has suffered, and perhaps is not the strongest now. However, I’m a new teacher, and have been entrusted with a hell of a workload. A workload you have decided to give me. At what point was I going to receive some type of mentorship/leadership from those more knowledgable and experienced about things so that I can do to make my curriculum and IEP’s better? In my opinion, I’ve been left to figure it all out on my own. Speaking solely on the special education side of my job I have shown very little comfortability with the process, and have always shown that I will do it wrong if someone isn’t available to help me. (competence is a better word, but thats not something I want to say in an official meeting) Quite frankly it should be no surprise to anyone that I’m continuing to struggle with my IEP’s, I have been struggling with them since day 1! Why am I getting in trouble for this when from my point of view I’ve clearly expressed my need for more support on multiple occasions to multiple people… Perhaps I’ll go into more details later.

At what point is it the student’s job to make sure they’re on top of everything, and at what point must the mentor(s) take that step to ensure their students are learning and growing in the areas they do and do not show competence!? It was a really really really difficult day, I was probably the most upset and bothered I’ve been all school year, even more so than the roommate fiasco. Luckily I stumbled on a few inspirational articles and videos that will hopefully keep me going strong through the end of the school year.

In the mean time check out Rita Pierson’s TED Talk – Every kid needs a champion

2 Comments

  1. I understand how you feel. It’s frustrating to receive negative criticism – especially when you’re worked hard and endured personal sacrifices.

    However, we cannot get grow, improve, & achieve success without experiencing failure, analysis, and the truth.

    When I’m frustrated, Michael Jackson’s “Man in the Mirror” video motivates and energizes me.

    Your deeds & efforts are make meaningful and appreciated; even the things your bosses don’t know about.
    ILY.

    • Thank you.

      In hindsight it was helpful to have the conversation where my principal and I were both able to voice our concerns. The situation itself hasn’t changed much, but I do feel like I’ve gotten more one on one attention and support around my weak areas which is all I really wanted to begin with.

      I’m obviously still upset about being written up. That’s never happened before. But it is what it is at this point.

      You know I’m not really a big MJ fan. But I’ll check the song and lyrics out again to see what its talking about. 🙂

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

