Dot coms, business cards, and new languages

basqu-1982

I feel a bit like Jean Michel Basquiat. All over the fucking place. My mind will not stop moving. I’ve been wanting to write some things here for a while. I actually have quite a bit to say. Quite a bit I want share. And even more so quite a bit you all need me to share. But my mind can’t create the phrases to get the words out. I think its a sign of my tiredness. But I don’t want that to be an excuse. I’m just going to write! Fuck it. You all will see some unfinished draft posts from me soon because I’ll be damned if I lose the other 3 posts I’ve written just because my mind can’t get it together right now.

Jean-Michel Basquiat: The Radiant Child

I guess I’ll start with tomorrow is Wednesday. April 17. Well technically today is. I still haven’t planned my Just Words Lesson for tomorrow. I’m pretty convinced we’re going to kick off our Harry Potter reading. I’m just not sure if I want to do whole group then break in to small groups while I walk around, or if I want to do whole group the entire class. Then put on a movie while I have students do their individual reading check ins. I also need to write a reflection for a lesson plan I wrote for my Grad school class. Part of me wants to share more of my grad school work… just to put stuff on here and because it shares a lot of my thoughts.

I’ve bought a few .com’s I’m excited about it. But shitty too because I assumed that managing a .com was easy. That crap might as well be alien hieroglyphs. The back room of godaddy.com reminds me of one of those old operator switchboards, I literally look and say WTF everytime I sign in just out of sheer volume of controls and links and settings I see back there. I thought I was going to see a box to throw some Angelfire-quality HTML into and keep it moving. LoL!!!  Not even close to the case. So…. for now I have three wordpress blogs that I forward my .com and .orgs until I figure out what’s really going on. (If you’re good at web-design hit me please –  info@skoolhaze.com or skoolhaze@gmail.com)

www.skoolhaze.com – This here blogged book. I’ve actually been reading a book that hasn’t necessarily given me any help turning this process into a blog/book. But It is something I’ve used to help fill in background knowledge about things I assume I will encounter later on once I begin moving towards publishing whatever I create.

How to Blog a Book – Nina Amir

How-To-Blog-A-Book-Nina-Amir

www.ybmi.org – The YBMI 400 serves to be a collection of positive depictions of young black men pushing for their own positive impact and success. It will counteract and push back against all of the negative images everyone has to look to when they desire a negative depiction of a young black male. I want other young black men to view this as a resource they can search for when they want inspiration. I’m looking for guys 23 – 35 who are in school, have started a business, work in community organizations, or have some other leadership skills/traits they would like to showcase. I choose this age because believe this is the time when men of color realize that it can be difficult to come up young and black in this world unless you’re lucky. I owe my own success to love, encouragement, and more luck than anything else. I want to include real leaders. The examples I listed are not the end all-be all of leadership. But I will say there’s a difference between someone who wants to be praised, and someone who wants to push. Think about it…

photo 1-1

YBMI is partially inspired and modeled after the Forbes 100/200, more specifically the Forbes 400 Titans of Philanthropy. The Young Black Male Initiative is something that is far overdue. The sheer fact that when I had for the idea Black Male Initiative, googled it, and saw the address and google search results were vacant – showed me that it was something that needed to be done. Think about that…. in the entirety of the globe, no one has started a young black male initiative……. that web address is available. …. out of 7,000,000,000 people. Sometimes you have to go out on a limb and build the bridge yourself when someone hasn’t done it for you.

Screen Shot 2013-04-20 at 4.44.42 PM

www.CreativeDreamers.org – I’ve created a scholarship at my alma mater – Indiana State University. Two – $1,500 scholarships will go to a male/female leader on campus. The purpose of the award is to encourage minority leaders on campus to keep up their extraordinary work, and to help them connect the importance of their leadership by seeing that service is a life-long venture. The Creative Dreamer Award is the first project for Creative Dreamers organization. Our aim is to expose young  black men to new opportunities and to expand their horizons. Creative Dreamers is a collaboration between myself and my frat brother, actually my sands. (Sands means someone on my same line/pledge class.) We are currently fundraising for our inaugural scholarship that we would like to bestow this fall. You can donate here – Donate to the Creative Dreamer Scholarship Fund → We’re also holding our first fundraiser on May 2. The Art of War Art Battle will help raise funds for our scholarship and for Core-Reader, an organization that publishes e-conent to inspire young girls of color, and holds empowerment programming for young ladies in Tennessee.

Screen Shot 2013-04-20 at 4.59.12 PM

Art of War Art Battle
C.O.R.E & Creative Dreamer Organizations
Thursday, May 2, 2013 from 6:00 PM to 10:00 PM (EDT)
Dragones Rooftop Lounge at Indigo Hotel in Chelsea
127 W. 28th St. NY, NY 10001 (between 6th and 7th)
New York, NY 10001

photo-5

Round 2 of my business cards have come. I thought the first batch were sick. But… I actually started to hate them after a while. They were a bit obnoxious. I like this black promo version a lot better. I figure I don’t need to explain to people EVERYTHING I want to do on a card. That’s what the conversation is for. The card is just to give them the contact, and leave a quick note. I realized I was usually writing a quick note on my business cards when I gave them out. I wish I could have kept the school stationary on the back. But with the personalized design I couldn’t, so I just left a tacky white space for now. LoL I’ll figure something out more sleek next time.

Throughout the year I’ve been exposed to a bunch of student lingo. I’ve always wanted to learn another language… but until grad school ends this will have to do. LoL

Brooklyn High School Dictionary  – 

You gettin me tight – You’re making me mad, getting on my nerves

YASSSS (Insert Name), fuck it up – A funning way to call someone’s name across class with the purpose of disrupting people.

Dridd – You’re mad, hot, heated, upset. Usually used to describe how someone else feels. Ex: Damn, I know you dridd. You dridd.

Gucci – Good, Excellent, Ok. Ex: I’m gucci. That’s gucci!

Things I hear on a regular basis – 

Shine bright like a penis
Penis
N***A
B***H
Boy
Leave your thoughts on this post below.

