Unpacking my mobile classroom-office-changing room

1.JPG

Back around September I realized I was carrying around a 45 pound book bag with me all over the city. It wasn’t long after that I was determined to show what the hell was in my bag with me all these days. Here is a sneak peak. I took these picture back in January right when after we started Spring Semester grad classes. Throughout the fellowship I’ve seen people get pretty creative with their mobile offices. Here’s what I do…… throw everything in my compartmentalized book bag.

(click pictures to enlarge)

2

3

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 3.32.19 AM

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 3.32.31 AM

Umbrella – I rarely check the weather in the morning. I just use this.

Stapler & Scissors – I travel around the school a lot, and there’s never a set place for essential supplies like the stapler or scissors. These actually come in handy for grad school projects  as well. And really just everyday use. These are probably the two most important supplies I have.

5hr Energy – … I keep one of these, Redbulls, or Starbucks shooters on deck at all times!

Colored Pencils/Dry Erase markers – Similar to the stapler/scissors. These are essentials that I’ve pulled out many times during random  impromptu activities in class.

Story Cubes – meh… something I’ve never really used. But they’re supposed to help students come up with ideas for their writing.

Deodorant, aspirin, etc… –  If you follow the blog you know there are many times I’ve had to brush my teeth in the morning at school. Refresh after a long day with some deodorant, blow my nose, or offer my students some tissue, etc… These are really essentials.

Teacher Pencils and Pens – These are my special (expensive) pens that I love writing, grading, and note taking with. However, students never seem to come to class prepared so I always end up handing them out and never get them back.

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 3.32.33 AM

Journal 1 & 2 – Places where I store my notes, ideas, sketches, etc… Earlier in the year I used these quite often.

Everything else should be self explanatory.

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 3.32.35 AM

Extra school materials – This is where I keep all my extra copies of worksheets, IEP notes and drafts.

Lesson Plans and School materials – Lesson plans and some of my JW/Rewards graded work.

Grad Class Folders – Its been really important to keep the grad materials organized and labeled. We have a lot of additional articles to read, drafts for lesson plans, journals, project plans, and syllabi.

Laptop  and Differentiating Instruction Textbook – Self explanatory

Screen Shot 2013-03-25 at 3.32.36 AM

Workout gear, iPod Shuffle, Earbuds, Grad School Notebook –  here should be self explanatory.

Ripping and running around NYC makes you have to have everything you’ll need throughout the day on you.  I generally leave around 650am-ish on a good day, and don’t get home until  around midnight. There’s no time to run home and grab my workout gear, or switch to my grad school bag after a long day.  I used to hate having to lug this thing around. But I actually think its dope to be carrying around 45 pound all day. I’ve created the image in my head that I’m getting a constant workout.  LoL

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

