Insomnia Thursdays: Yes, I’m up right now…

This might seem OD, but yes I’m up right now. Its 3AM, the Friday back from christmas vacation. School started back Wednesday, January 2, 2013. I’m already back to being knee deep in activity. Productivity definitely isn’t the right word to use here.

Either way, I’m figuring it out. I just thought of a few games I want to try in Just Words and Rewards, my two reading intervention classes. I’ve been trying to think of ways to get the students to understand that they can help each other learn how to correctly decode and read. I’ve had them do writing activities to test out their ability to metacognate (to think about what they’re thinking about) on what they’re doing while spelling. I think having them think about their thinking in their heads was confusing them. So instead I’m going to try to have them say what they’re doing as a part of the game in order to get points. I’m hoping that the competition of the game will help peak their interest. While the rule to audibly tell the class how you’re translating the sounds into written letters while spelling will help those students that still have gaps in their knowledge. This way they can discreetly fill in those gaps while still participating in the game.

My frat brother and I are having what I intend to make an important meeting tomorrow after work. I want us to start a business together. So I’m trying to prepare a few speaking points to make sure I cover all of my important ideas. We have a solid business energy between the two of us, and I want to make sure we capitalize on this as much as possible while we can and while we’re energized to make moves.

The grades were due today for the first grading period in second trimester. I’ve gotten pretty good at calculating grades. I’m lucky though, my intervention classes have a fraction of the benchmark (grading categories) that the other traditional classes like Math and English have.

I finally finished an IEP that was about 2 months late tonight. Along with an email to my principal, special ed coordinator, and special ed coach thanking them for their patience. As well as the lessons I learned about being more aggressive in seeking teacher feedback, and continuing to view my IEP’s as priorities just as I do my daily lesson plans.

keeping-black-boys-out-special-education-jawanza-kunjufu-paperback-cover-art

I’m reading an AMAZING book that has already impacted my teaching practice and I haven’t even had it for a week yet. Keeping Black Boys Out of Special Education by Dr. Jawanza Kunjufu. Literally a work of educational art in my opinion. I’ll be done with the book in a day or two and then I’m off to read either The Harvard Business Review’s Guide to Getting the Right Work Done by the Harvard Business Review Press or The Envy of the World: On Being a Black Man in America by Ellis Cose. I’ve decided to focus on reading again. For some reason reading makes me feel high on knowledge which in turn makes me feel energized to knock out work even when I’m too tired like right n…

Stay tuned for a review of Dr. Kunjufu’s book by the way. It really has changed the scope I’ve used to view this work in a huge way in less than 7 days. It’s humbling to read another Black man’s words about what can, should, and will work to help influence change in our young black boys out there. Even if his ideas are wrong, which I highly doubt, I truly just appreciate being able to read this man’s ideas to allow them to contribute to my educational tool belt so it’s called. I plan to reach out to him via email to learn more about what he feels we educators can do to help train our young boys to grow into positive men.

This is the year to take it to the next level! I’m speaking it into existence, and pushing myself from behind to make it my reality.

*Edit – I know what you were thinking…. where were the book order links… that’s why I added them for you 😉 Yikes, I should really start proofreading as well, LoL

3 Comments

  1. Hey Paladin,

    I’m going to order this on amazon now. I have Raising Black Boys by Dr. Jawanza Kunjufu but don’t think I’ve read that yet. So while I’m waiting on this book I will read the other 🙂

    Thanks homie

    • Leece,

      I actually really love Dr. Kunjufu’s books. I’m slowly making my way through “To Be Popular or Smart: The Black peer group”. I don’t agree with everything he says, but I just really enjoy the foundational messages he tries to share with parents and teachers alike. He needs to step his social media/website game all the way up though. LoL

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

