Hurrication – How my schedule got back on track

Hurricane Sandy ran through NYC last week. Schools were shut down for the entire week which is unprecedented, so I hear. Its kind of amazing how many days off these kids get from school. I would guess we’re close to about 12-15 days off this year for various holidays, meetings, events.

However, I’m hoping that this time off from school has re-eergized me for this work. Its incredibly draining. Before the break I felt like I was barely holding on. I had started arriving considerably late to school the entire week. We start each day at 8:20am. Anyday I can walk into the building before 7:40am, I feel set and ready to make things happen. I’m able to use the 40 minutes to prepare for the days classes and challenges. This week, I had been arriving anywhere between 7:50 and 8:10, and probably later, the point is I was getting there way to late for even me to feel comfortable.

My schedule for the fellowship is pretty hardcore, it looks a little something like this.

Monday – Friday:

  • 6:00am – Wake Up, shower, get dressed, and pack my bag.
  • 6:40am – Leave for the train (about 3/4 block walk)
  • 6:50 – 7:05am – Hop on the train
  • 7:40 – Arrive at school
  • 8:20am – 3:10pm School Session
  • 3:10pm – 5:00pm After School Tutoring/On-Site Planning/Meetings
  • 5:00pm – 8:00pm Grad Classes (Monday/Tuesday)
  • 8:00pm – 9:00pm Commute Home
  • 9:00pm – 9:30pm – Quick Grocery/Food Grab
  • 9:30pm – 11:00pm Eating or Laying down exhausted somewhere
  • 11:00pm – 2:00am Barely Focused Lesson prep, Unfocused Grad School Shuffle, Numerous Distractions form Productivity.

Saturday/Sunday: My weekends have varied drastically since I’ve moved here. Generally my weekends are spent doing what must be done — Moving, Grading, Planning, Laundry, Writing IEP’s, Lying comatose somewhere comfortable, etc… I’ll try to provide a more structured weekend schedule in the next couple of weeks now that I feel settled.

Basically, my weekends haven’t been spent doing fun stuff, or much personal stuff like going to the gym, movies, haircut, chillin, partying, relaxing, etc. This is why Hurricane Sandy came along at such a perfect time. Its almost horrible to say because she caused so much damage and havoc around the city. None the less, having the unexpected week off allowed me to slowly recharge my batteries and reset my schedule which was beginning to slide way off track. I could tell I was struggling. It literally took me the entire six-day break to complete everything that was on my weekend to do list.

Having the storm wipe out a week of instruction for our kids is helping me put things back into perspective. These kids need to learn, and they need focused, active, aggressive teachers to help them gain the knowledge they need to control this world.

Oh and shouts out to Tim for the term Hurrication

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

