Financial Crisis Averted

It’s been a long time since I’ve been on here. Somewhere along the line I started making it too hard on myself to create posts. I would come up with all these great ideas, and tools, and pics and stuff to share which felt dope. But, that made me feel like each time I came I had to have something tangible to bring or else it wasn’t worth anyone’s time. I can’t think like that anymore. It was only stopping me from being able to share my experience which is the reason why I started this to begin with. I’ve actually had a few conversations with friends and family about self-created barriers this week. So, I decided to just place those aside and get back to what I was doing. Sharing…

I’ve been in NYC for 5 months now.I’m in my second semester of grad school at LIU – Brooklyn, and have been teaching at my high school for 2 months as a Special Education Teacher for our freshman and sophomore class. I co-teach 2 English classes, and a Technology class. I also teach an intervention-Level Reading course by myself for a group of 11 students. The grading period is about half way through and there’s been talk of giving me a lot more of the intervention level courses. An intervention course is basically a class designed for students who have extremely low levels in the subject area. Think remedial. There’s intervention courses in Reading, Writing, Spelling, and Math. I like working with the Intervention classes, because it gives me a chance to try out a lot of my own ideas and make my own decisions without having to compromise with another educator. Its kind of like my own science lab.

Looking back over the past 5 months. I’m not exactly sure how I’ve made it through. I say this because it is just now that I’m starting to feel settled into the city. Check it, I finally moved my stuff out of storage in Boston and brought it to the city 2 weeks ago. Until then I had still been pretty much living out of 3 briefcases and little funds. I also am just now feeling like I’m getting steady income, but even that is a little shaky. Which actually leads me to a tip! MAKE SURE YOU UPDATE YOU MAILING ADDRESS AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE!

Unbeknownst to me, teacher salary is broken up into 3 different payment classifications. I won’t bore you with the details on how its broken up. Just know that in NYC we receive, at minimum, two different types of checks. Your normal salary (8:20am – 3:10pm, M – F) and additional teaching or training you do after school (tutoring after school, pd opportunities, etc…) It wasn’t until the first week in October that I was informed that I had only been receiving about half of my checks. The address on file for my normal teaching salary was correct, but my training checks were being sent to my Boston address. Imagine my surprise when I found out there was $1600 out there with my name on it! Since then its taking me a while to get the situation fully rectified, but I have started receiving all new checks at my current address and have received $500 of the $1600 out there and its completely changed how comfortable I’ve felt in the past week or so.

STAY ON TOP OF YOUR PERSONAL THINGS. I also had to go through a bit of checking and pushing to make sure my insurance documentation went through at the beginning of the school year. Also call to make sure something is correct if you haven’t heard back. Also, I know I mentioned how important it is to set up an online bank account in a previous post. However, it kind of came to bite me in the butt. I’ve overdraft my account twice in the past month because I forgot I set up bi-weekly $25.77 withdrawals for my ING account. Its actually the first time I think I’ve over drafted in over 5 years or so. Anywho, everything is all set with that now that I’m feeling more liquid with my assets. Just note to self, when funds get bottom of the barrel low be sure to keep track of all automatic withdrawals.

A few people have told me they follow the blog. Hadas, Peter, Vince, Eric, Tiffany, and Justin, thanks for the support!

Leave your thoughts on this post below.

